Two things:

  • Given the 2000mAH LiPo battery needed to be recharged after 44 hours, I spent time looking into CPU (the Feather I am using uses the M0 CPU) power management.  
  • I removed the Moisture Puck from Strawberry Swirl and opened it up.  The enclosure design needs improvement:
    • waterproof the top.  There were drips of water on the under side of the top of the lid pointing to water seeping through the top.
    • a design in which the battery can be recharged without having to take out all screws.  As I gain knowledge into enclosure design, I can’t help but admire the design of many small consumer devices.

Power Management

Test Code Results

I wrote PowerManagementServerRFM69.ino to act as the Power Management code that would run on the Moisture Puck.  I simplified the sending side in PowerManagementClientRFM69.ino.

I loaded each sketch on it’s Feather.  Packets were received by the server from the client.  

Frustrated

Then…um….I couldn’t get the server into boot loader mode even after (carefully – at least I thought I was careful…I admit following directions isn’t all that easy for me…) following Adafruit’s directions.  Well…that means…TIME TO LEARN…YIPPEE!  I will try restoring the boot loader. Then continue power management testing.

One thing that was “fun” to learn about and try out was Apple’s USB Prober utility: “ USB Prober displays USB specific information from the system and from IORegistry. It also displays status messages generated by the USBLog function call.

 

 

 

 

Info on Power Management

Battery Life Power Management Info sources that I found very useful (by useful I mean a quick read to get me up to speed):

Checking on Current Consumption

In Tony’s discussion on Current Consumption, he notes Adafruit’s INA219 current sensor breakout board.  I have one on order.  I hope this will give me a better feel for (close to) exactly how much battery life I can expect to gain with the changes made.

Waterproofing Moisture Puck Enclosure

The third image of the Moisture Puck shows a water drop on the inside of the enclosure:

 

NewImage  NewImage  NewImage

The second image shows the pain that must be endured to get to the LiPo battery, unplug it, and the recharge.  Yuck.

Next Steps

Next steps based on May 31st include:

  • Getting the bricked Feather to upload sketches and be seen by a serial port.
  • Evolving the design of the Moisture Puck so that recharging the battery is much easier.
  • Figuring out the best way to waterproof the top of the Moisture Puck.
