Customer Check-In

The images show the improved (I hope!) left side with the second fan mounted as well as the plants/fan on the right side:

NewImage

NewImage

The right side of the Leaf Spa has a mounted fan blowing air down on the leaves:

NewImage

None of the plants look stressed.  However, the left side of the Leaf Spa does not.  The Stevia Leaves curl up:

NewImage

I’m exploring if this leaf stress is caused by the air temperature being too high.  I just turned down the light intensity.  Turning down the light intensity will lower the air temperature a bit.  

In this post I’m focusing on designing and 3D printing a fan  mount that will be attached on the left side of the Grow Chamber.  This way, the left side will be more balanced to the right in terms of air temperature and access to CO2.  I’ll be including a hole for a CO2 tube.  I plan to split the CO2 tubing so that both the left and right side will receive CO2 when the CO2 valve is turned on.  

The Fan Mount

I’ll start with the Fusion 360 model I made – and am using – for the right fan mount.  I will modify the model such that the bolt mounts go through the plastic and attach to the LED Shelf with a nut.  This way, the plastic doesn’t have to handle screw/bolt threading – a weakness on the right Fan mount.

NewImage

Now that I have the fan mount 3D printed, it’s time to wire up power in a way that both fans share the 12V power supply.

NewImage

 I put connectors on wires going between the Grow Chamber and the Base because I have this new idea to bling out the Leaf Spa so that I can wheel it outside during the summer.

One improvement down…many more to most likely come!

