Tags

, , , , ,

Customer Check-In

These images were taken at 5 minute intervals.  I tried a new way to mount the camera using…wait…for..it…that’s right DUCK TAPE!

OOPS – the duck tape quickly gave way…the camera drops…then the LED turns off.  But it does show most of the plants and what they are up to.  At this point I am not focusing on their health as much as I am on fixing any challenges with the Leaf Spa implementation.  I am fairly happy with the growth of the basil and thyme.  However, I am concerned with the health of the other plants.  I plan to research this after I get the camera mounted the way I want.

Time Lapse

Good better best  This is a late added feature – and it shows.  Challenges:

  • Did not design a mount and explore the best camera angles during the design stage of the Grow Chamber.  At this point, I will make a mount but it will not be ideal.
  • O Snap! does not automatically download the images, make a time-lapse movie, or upload to YouTube.  To do this, I have to remove the camera.
  • O Snap! has an easy way to set a time interval or to shoot during time of day.  I would like to control via when the LED is ON or OFF.  I.e.: if the LED is ON, take the shot.  If not, don’t.

What I love about O Snap! is it gives me a very good feeling for what I want out of taking pictures of plants in the Leaf Spa.  It works well enough for this prototype and I have clear ideas on how I can evolve when/if I decide to right a custom app for an iPhone or Android phone.

My next attempt at mounting the iPhone camera within the Grow Chamber is to create and 3D print a mount. I’ll do what I did with the fan and drill holes in the LED shelf.  

Designing a Mount

I’m going to design a mount for the iPhone I have in Fusion 360.  I will need

  • a Fusion 360 model of the iPhone 4S (model A1387).  
NewImage
  • Fusion 360 Design 

I’m printing out the three bodies:

NewImage

I used the iPhone 3D model done by Amit Kumar located at this web link. I decided for this attempt to go with a simple design that includes a camera grip (yellow), wedge (light blue), and fastener (purple).  I’ll glue these together after checking the wedge angle and fastener depth + bolt hole location.

To fasten the camera holder to the leaf shelf, I will draw to holes and feed these bolts through the holes and the holes on the plastic fastener:

NewImage

 I found these bolts in my husband’s toolbox:

NewImage

ummm….yah…a pretty big mess… :-).  I am ecstatic to use bolts that have been kicking around.

Note: I find fastening a 3D printed object onto the Leaf Spa to be challenging.  The simplest is to do what I’ve done here – which is to find a bolt with a nut that allows the shelf + plastic to fit the bolt and then be tightened by the nut.  This way, the plastic does not participate in the threading/tightening of bolt-to-nut.  I apologize if my terminology for this stuff is off.  I’m new to building stuff that requires bolts.

The 3d Printed fan mount + CO2 tube holder that is hanging on the other side of the Leaf Spa is fastened by screwing the bolt into holes in the plastic. This is too feeble for long term stability – although working find for now.

Here are other ways I explored to fasten a mount:

  • Heat-set threaded inserts as recommended by MatterHackers on this web post

NewImage

 

I’m still printing out the pieces…and well..with 3D printing….it takes longer than I typically expect it should….so..time to practice patience. 

Good better best Supports should be used when printing out the camera grip.

 

