Customer Happiness Check-In

Here are the stars of all this:

 

Pasted Image 2 10 17 12 56 PM

looking at my plant key:

genovese basil parsley sweet basil stevia stevia lettuce
genovese basil thyme sweet basil stevia stevia kale

The lettuce, kale, basil, and thyme are starting to pop out of their shell!

Once I start seeing growth, I like to add lights.  My thought process is the seedlings will sense the light and want to grow towards it.  I put the light on a timer:

NewImage

A Shiny Thing

OOH – Adafruit started shipping the PyCom WiPy 2.0.  I just ordered one.  How great is that?  Adafruit – a company I support – has stocked something I want.  And the fun part is it will take maybe a week to get here…anticipation!  Oooh – then I saw the Expansion Board.  Looks useful.

Adding LED DLI Code – Day 2

Yesterday I familiarized myself with Paul’s (Arduino) time and RTC libraries:

I tested how I would code turning the LEDs on/off with TurnLightsOnOffTest.ino (found at this GitHub location).  I wanted to test the light going on/off at a time of day.  Alarms are set then the code sets the Arduino clock to a little bit before midnight (light is coded to turn off at midnight) and then set to a little bit before 4AM (the time the light is to come on).  The test code is where I have spent most of my time.  I hope the comments are adequate to act as the documentation.  I find it easier to have documentation directly with the code instead of with this text.

I got a tad confused by the time_t type.  As typical, confusion is cleared when I RTFM (as I was told countless times by engineers in BIG SOFTWARE COMPANY). From this link on the Paul’s siteTime uses a special time_t variable type, which is the number of seconds elapsed since 1970. Using time_t lets you store or compare times as a single number, rather that dealing with 6 numbers and details like the number of days in each month and leap years.

