I’ve spent the majority of my time in Fusion 360 creating an enclosure for the Arduino/sensor hardware “goo”.  I’m not going to go into a Fusion 360 how to.  There is A LOT of great content on working in Fusion 360 already what I am finding given how my mind works:

  • Spend a day designing in Fusion 360 as if I am designing on a 3D piece of paper.  This helps me think through what needs to be focused on (for example spacers, holes for power, cords, SD card, securing the Arduino within the enclosure)/
  • Get components to act as place holders.
here’s the one I used for the Arduino:
NewImage
Here’s the one I used for the SD Shield:
NewImage
  • Use my caliper to get measurements right

  • I’m still evolving how I handle spacers, securing the Arduino to the case, and easy accessibility for cords, power, and SD card.

Color Coding the Relay Box

My sticker dots arrived yesterday.

NewImage

Now the Arduino wires are color coded to which relay it activates. I didn’t have a white sticker so I cut out the innards of a black sticker.  And – the best part – now I have a bunch of stickers!  YIPPEE!  I must not use them on my kid’s stuff (they are adults now) because last time I did they got upset.  OK, admittedly putting Disney stickers on their grades is probably not appropriate.

Arduino Enclosure

I’ve got the Arduino HW “goo” ready to go.  

NewImage

I’m going to make an enclosure out of Fusion 360.  My thought is the enclosure will protect the Arduino (although you would think isolating the 5V from the AC side of the relay would be more protection 🙂 ).  Challenges I need to address when making the enclosure:

External Connections

I need to get the hw to fit within the enclosure such that the openings for USB, power, and SD card connections can be easily made.

NewImage

In the past, I have done an ok job.  The challenge is not getting the opening holes right, but rather securing the hardware such that it stays in place and the connector placement makes it easy to plug the cables in.

Arduino Mounting Holes

Here’s an image of the mounting holes on the back of my Arduino.

NewImage

Here’s an image of the dimensions (link to image):

In the notes: “All Arduino mounting holes are 3.2mm – about 0.125in. – in diameter.  They will accommodate M3-0.5 or UNC 4-40 screws and standoffs.”  I’ll address this by making really big standoffs as part of the enclosure and then fitting with screws.  More on this when I actually do it.

I got some M3 x 16mm screws from Home Depot.

NewImage

Hmmm…I’m thinking 10mm would have worked “better” because it would mean the spacers didn’t have to be as tall.  But I don’t think it matters that much.  Or, it is too early to tell.

Right now the enclosure is printing.

NewImage

The top of the enclosure (has the piano looking openings in it to let in air) is placed on the printing bed to show it. The bottom is being printed.  The bumps are the beginning of the spacers.

I’d be surprised (shocked really) if this print works.  More likely, I will need to make modifications to the Fusion 360 enclosure.  This is a shame since it takes 4-5 hours to print the bottom of the enclosure and 3-4 hours to print the top.

 

And that’s a wrap for today!

