I just don’t seem to be able to give up on MicroPython.  What I find out today is it will take more work to get the CO2 sensor + Adafruit.io playing nice since the CO2 sensor I’m using uses a UART.  I2C is looking bettah and bettah…particularly when plugging a bunch of sensors and then shoving data into the cloud.  I want to get the data into the cloud at some point to better analyze….if more Leaf Spas start appearing, we can use each other’s data to improve the health of our plants.

Smacking myself on the head…the priority is getting the Leaf Spa going.  For now, I will use the Arduino Uno, Grove Shield, and an SD card shield to log data….

The great news is I got the 4 channel relay box going (more on that in tomorrow’s post).

MicroPython

Since Adafruit’s Feather Huzzah is considered the MicroPython ESP8266 “best”, I am feeding my MicroPython flame by (re?) installing MicroPython on the Feather Huzzah I got last summer.

Installing MicroPython on the Feather Huzzah

First, find out the serial port of the Huzzah:

$ ls -l /dev/tty.*

crw-rw-rw-  1 root  wheel   18,   0 Jan 29 23:56 /dev/tty.Bluetooth-Incoming-Port

crw-rw-rw-  1 root  wheel   18,   2 Jan 29 23:56 /dev/tty.Bluetooth-Modem

crw-rw-rw-  1 root  wheel   18,   4 Jan 30 00:25 /dev/tty.SLAB_USBtoUART

 

Then follow Tony’s directions from this Adafruit web page. EasyPeasy.

Relay Box

NewImageGND -> BLACK

5V -> RED

1 -> YELLOW

2 -> WHITE

3 -> GREEN

4 -> BLUE

 Sparse today.  I fell asleep way early.  YAY!

