Time to put the intake manifold together.

NewImage

NewImage

The BoM part of the drawing is not accurate as far as material.  This is because it is not useful for me to change this.  I am more interested in what PVC parts are needed and how they fit together.

As I was putting the manifolds together, I noticed I didn’t have a 7/8” hole saw to drill holes for the 1/2” Sch 40 PVC pipe.  So I went to Home Depot and got one of these.

NewImage

It was a bit pricy.  Too bad I didn’t find this one:

NewImage

While at Home Depot, I picked up a 1/2 in. PVC pipe compression coupling.

NewImage

I needed a way to detach the intake manifold from the Coleman since the intake starts with a pump which must be attached to a hose.  This youtube video shows how to use a compression coupling

Here is an image of the top of the intake manifold:

NewImage

It is a tight fit.   I ended up putting the 3-way elbow towards the front instead of along the left back.  This way, the PVC pipe is closer to the front of the unit.  I’ll need to undo the compression coupling in order to remove the Coleman for a complete cleaning.  It will be easier if the plumbing is closer to the front of the unit.  “Next time” I would put the intake and outtake manifolds on before mounting on the top shelf.  This time I was more designing and fitting as I went along.  Tomorrow I’ll connect the intake and outtake manifolds to the Coleman.

While we were at it, we drilled holes and screwed in the LED driver and fan / CO2 tube holder:

NewImage

I hope to finish up the plumbing tomorrow.  

