I am learning.  I’d love to hear from you about stuff I could do better @bitknitting

Let The (fake) sunshine in!

sunshine

The goal: to wire up this circuit and turn on one of the CREE LEDs.

Recall the circuit diagram:

LEDCircuitDiagram

Thanks to Metrix Create:Space

Before I had a senior moment, I wanted to share with you all the cool things I learned yesterday about putting together an LED circuit.  I huge shout out and thank you to Richard at Metrix Create:Space

Image

(hmmm…picture shows Richard doing EVERYTHING… Let’s see if I learned anything…)

If you live in the Seattle area and want to get into DIY stuff like 3D printing, Arduino, PCB creation…I highly recommend you check this place out.  Richard says a lot of robots are built.  Ah…boys with their toys.

The Power Supply Is Connected To The….Power Cord

The power supply is plugged into the wall through a standard power cord.

PowerCordToPowerSupply

The pictures and text on this blog post provides more detail on what you need to do to hook up the power cord.

I used these spade connectors.  Please don’t get the wrong size – which is what I initially did.  The ones I got had a stud size of 4-6 and fit 22-16 AWG cables.

spadeConnectors

The LED Driver is Connected To The….Power Supply and Arduino

Here is the pin configuration of the LDD-1000H as shown in the LDD-1000H data sheet:

LDD-1000HPinConfig

As shown in the pin configuration above, the LDD uses the following pins to connect with the power supply:

  • either pins 23, 24 for +Vin.
    • I attached a 22 AWG (red insulated) wire from the +Vout on the power supply to pin 24 on the LDD.
  • either pins 1,2 for – Vout.
    • I attached a 22 AWG (black insulated) wire from pin 1 on the LDD to -Vout on the power supply.

LDD-100HPinConnectorsTo continue the circuit to the LED, the LDD uses the following pins:

  • either pins 11,12 to connect to the – LED connection.
    • I attached a 22 AWG (black insulated) wire from pin 12 to the negative connector of the LED holder.
  • either pins 13,14 to connect to the + LED connection.
    • I attached a 22 AWG (yellow insulated) wire from pin 13 to the positive connector of the LED holder.
  • pin 22 is used for PWM dimming.
    • I connected pin 22 to digital pin 9 of the Arduino Uno since this is one of the pins on the Arduino that supports PWM.

All That is Left is the Arduino

I used two pins on the Arduino:

  • a yellow cable goes from pin 9 to pin 22 on the LDD.  This allows the Arduino to send PWM signals to the LDD since pin 22 is the DIM/PWM connector on the LDD.
  • a black cable goes from GND to pin 11 on the LDD.

Wired Together

wiredUp2

Geez…you think I could shorten some of the wiring? U-G-L-Y!

